Our house! Homeless people of Cologne help themselves

A film by Susanne Böhm and Tarja Kühne
Commissioned by SWR
ARTE Re

Homeless people occupy a house in Cologne in the middle of the Corona pandemic. Their vision: to live and work together. With a registration address and a work contract, they hope to find a way back into the social system. The Cologne municipality wants to evict them, but the squatters find a lot of support for their project.

Because the city has a problem: almost 6,200 people live on the streets here. Across Europe, the number of homeless people is rising dramatically: Most recently, it was estimated at 700,000 - that's an increase of 70 percent within the last ten years.
André knows life without a roof over his head - nine years has lived on the street, then he took matters into his own hands and occupied a vacant office building on the Cologne wholesale market. His idea: homeless people and also Polish migrant workers should live and work here in a self-managed way. That's how Thorsten and Ryszard found their way to the OMZ, which stands for "Homeless with a Future. Finally a roof over their heads, a door that can be locked. Thorsten finds support here, even discovers his artistic vein and begins to paint. Ryszard has a family again, the Polish community in the house. For the city administration, the occupation is a breach of law; the house has been evicted several times. Pastor Hans Mörtter, on the other hand, sees the OMZ as a pilot project for other cities: on the street, the law of the strongest applies; in the house, the residents must learn to solve conflicts with words. Will they manage to live out their dream of self-managed living in the long term?

Editing: Esther Saoub
Camera: Tarja Kühne, Julia Baumann
Editing: Kawe Vakil

TV-Premiere:
17.12. 2020 at 19.40, ARTE

Related links:
Our House on Youtube!

Unser Haus! Kölner Obdachlose helfen sich selbst

Ein Film von Susanne Böhm und Tarja Kühne
Im Auftrag des SWR
ARTE Re

Obdachlose besetzen mitten in der Corona-Pandemie ein Haus in Köln. Ihre Vision: gemeinsam wohnen und arbeiten. Mit Meldeadresse und Arbeitsvertrag hoffen sie auf einen Weg zurück ins Sozialsystem. Die Stadtverwaltung Köln will räumen, doch die Besetzer finden für ihr Projekt viel Unterstützung.

Denn die Stadt hat ein Problem: knapp 6.200 Menschen leben hier auf der Straße. Europaweit steigt die Zahl der Obdachlosen dramatisch an: Zuletzt wurde sie auf 700.000 geschätzt – das ist ein Anstieg von 70 Prozent innerhalb der letzten zehn Jahre.
André kennt das Leben ohne Dach über dem Kopf – neun Jahren hat auf der Straße gelebt, dann nahm er die Sache selbst in die Hand und besetzte ein leerstehendes Bürogebäude auf dem Kölner Großmarkt. Seine Idee: hier sollen Obdachlose und auch polnische Wanderarbeiter selbstverwaltet wohnen und arbeiten. So finden auch Thorsten und Ryszard ihren Weg ins OMZ das steht für „Obdachlose mit Zukunft“. Endlich ein Dach über dem Kopf, eine Tür, die man abschließen kann. Thorsten findet hier Halt, entdeckt sogar seine künstlerische Ader und beginnt zu malen. Ryszard hat wieder eine Familie, die polnische Community im Haus. Für die Stadtverwaltung ist die Besetzung Rechtsbruch, mehrere Male schon soll das Haus geräumt werden. Pfarrer Hans Mörtter dagegen sieht das OMZ als Pilotprojekt für andere Städte: Auf der Straße gilt das Recht des Stärkeren, im Haus müssen die Bewohner lernen, Konflikte mit Worten zu lösen. Schaffen sie es, ihren Traum vom selbstverwalteten Wohnen dauerhaft zu leben?

Redaktion: Esther Saoub
Kamera: Tarja Kühne, Julia Baumann
Schnitt: Kawe Vakil

Erstausstrahlung:
17.12. 2020 um 19.40 Uhr, ARTE

Weiterführende Links:
Unser Haus auf Youtube!