Cheap meat - Who pays for the small prices?

A film by Tatjana Mischke
Commissioned by SWR
In the series "concerns".

Germans enjoy cheap meat - rarely have they spent less money on this food. German consumers consume around 60 kilograms of meat per year on average. Beef from South America is particularly popular at Easter and Christmas. A documentary in the "betrifft" series on SWR television takes a look behind the scenes of agriculture in Germany and Brazil. And takes a look at a globally operating agricultural industry.

Beef from South America competes with meat from Germany

The low-priced beef from South America is advertised in the German trade with the image of particularly environmentally friendly production. This is because, in contrast to European cattle farming, the cattle in Brazil's vast meadows graze all year round. The import of beef from South America is also politically desirable: the Mercosur trade agreement has been under negotiation for 20 years and, according to Portuguese Prime Minister Antonio Costa, is now to be "wrapped up" during the Portuguese EU Council Presidency. But what does production mean for farmers?

Farmers in Germany struggle to survive

"betrifft" is a guest of Kurt Meyer, a farmer in Lower Saxony who keeps around 1,000 head of cattle and produces for the conventional market. In recent years, he has had to watch as more and more farmers have given up and sold their farms. For him, too, working conditions have been getting worse and worse for years. Since he has voluntarily committed himself to species-appropriate animal husbandry and keeps his cattle on straw, his farm has fallen into economic difficulties. This is because the price at which he can sell meat remains unchanged as costs rise.

Brazil is the world's largest meat producer

To understand the conditions under which beef is produced in South America, "concerns" author Tatjana Mischke travels to Brazil. The country, which has more cattle than people, is one of the largest meat producers on the international market. One basis for its success is cheap grazing land. But while strict environmental standards apply to farmers in the EU, cheap meat continues to be produced in Brazil at the expense of people, animals and the environment. Contrary to existing environmental laws, rainforests are being burned and valuable wetlands destroyed. In the Pantanal, the largest wetland in the world, "concerns" accompanies scientists* counting the dead animals after the devastating fires last season. In the valley, small farmers are being displaced to raise cattle or grow soy on the burned land. Scientists, doctors and human rights activists report on their everyday confrontation with Brazil's largest industry: agribusiness.

Editorial SWR: Hans-Michael Kassel, Martina Treuter
Camera: Gerardo Milsztein, Manoela Meyer (Brazil), Eduardo Duwe (Brazil)
Sound: Juliane Vari
Editing: Dirk Hergenhahn
Speakers: Simon Roden

TV-Premiere:
on April 7, 2021, 8:15 p.m., SWR

Further broadcasts:
April 8, 2021, 10.15 a.m., SWR
April 9, 2021, 02.45 a.m., SWR

Available in streaming from the following providers:

The film is available after broadcast in the ARD Mediathek and via the SWR Doku Channel on Youtube.

Billiges Fleisch – Wer bezahlt für die kleinen Preise?

Ein Film von Tatjana Mischke
Im Auftrag des SWR
In der Reihe „betrifft“

Die Deutschen genießen billiges Fleisch – selten haben sie weniger Geld für dieses Lebensmittel ausgegeben. Rund 60 Kilogramm Fleisch konsumieren deutsche Verbraucher*innen im Durchschnitt pro Jahr. An Ostern und Weihnachten besonders beliebt: Rindfleisch aus Südamerika. Eine Doku der Reihe „betrifft“ im SWR Fernsehen schaut hinter die Kulissen der Landwirtschaft in Deutschland und Brasilien. Und blickt auf eine weltweit agierende Agrarindustrie.

Rindfleisch aus Südamerika konkurriert mit Fleisch aus Deutschland

Das preisgünstige Rindfleisch aus Südamerika wird im deutschen Handel mit dem Image von besonders umweltfreundlicher Produktion beworben. Denn im Gegensatz zur europäischen Rinderhaltung stehen auf den weiten Wiesen Brasiliens die Rinder ganzjährig auf der Weide. Auch politisch ist der Import von Rindfleisch aus Südamerika gewünscht: Das Handelsabkommen Mercosur wird seit 20 Jahren verhandelt und soll nun während der portugiesischen EU-Ratspräsidentschaft laut Portugals Premierminister Antonio Costa „unter Dach und Fach gebracht werden”. Was aber bedeutet die Produktion für Landwirtinnen und Landwirte?

Landwirte in Deutschland kämpfen ums Überleben

„betrifft” ist zu Gast bei Kurt Meyer, einem Landwirt in Niedersachsen, der rund 1000 Rinder hält und für den konventionellen Markt produziert. In den vergangenen Jahren musste er beobachten, wie immer mehr Landwirtinnen und Landwirte aufgegeben und ihre Höfe verkauft haben. Auch für ihn werden die Arbeitsbedingungen seit Jahren immer schlechter. Seit er sich freiwillig für eine artgerechte Tierhaltung einsetzt und seine Rinder auf Stroh hält, gerät sein Hof in eine wirtschaftliche Schieflage. Denn der Preis, zu dem er Fleisch verkaufen kann, bleibt bei steigenden Kosten unverändert.

Brasilien ist der weltweit größte Fleisch-Produzent

Um zu verstehen, unter welchen Bedingungen Rindfleisch in Südamerika produziert wird, fährt „betrifft”-Autorin Tatjana Mischke nach Brasilien. Das Land, in dem mehr Rinder als Menschen leben, ist einer der größten Fleisch-Produzenten auf dem internationalen Markt. Eine Grundlage für den Erfolg ist billiges Weideland. Aber während für die Bäuerinnen und Bauern in der EU strenge Umweltstandards gelten, wird in Brasilien nach wie vor billiges Fleisch auf Kosten von Menschen, Tieren und der Umwelt erzeugt. Entgegen der bestehenden Umweltgesetze werden Regenwald abgebrannt und wertvolle Feuchtgebiete zerstört. Im Pantanal, dem größten Feuchtgebiet weltweit, begleitet „betrifft” Wissenschaftler*innen, die nach den verheerenden Bränden in der vergangenen Saison die toten Tiere zählen. In dem Tal werden Kleinbäuerinnen und Kleinbauern vertrieben, um auf dem abgebrannten Land Rinder zu halten oder Soja anzubauen. Wissenschaftler*innen, Ärzt*innen und Menschenrechtler*innen berichten von ihrer alltäglichen Auseinandersetzung mit Brasiliens größtem Industriezweig: der Agrarindustrie.

Redaktion SWR: Hans-Michael Kassel, Martina Treuter
Kamera: Gerardo Milsztein, Manoela Meyer (Brasilien), Eduardo Duwe (Brasilien)
Ton: Juliane Vari
Schnitt: Dirk Hergenhahn
Sprecher: Simon Roden

Erstausstrahlung:
am 7. April 2021, 20.15 Uhr, SWR

Weitere Ausstrahlungen:
8. April 2021, 10.15 Uhr, SWR
9. April 2021, 02.45 Uhr, SWR

​Im Stream verfügbar bei folgenden Anbietern:

Der Film ist nach der Ausstrahlung in der ARD Mediathek und über den SWR Doku Channel auf Youtube verfügbar.