Valentin Thurn

Owner of THURN FILM - Valentin Thurn Filmproduktion since 1994. Author and director of made-for-TV documentaries for the televion broadcasting stations: WDR („Die Story“ [‘The Story’], „Menschen Hautnah“ [‘People Up Close’], „Weltweit“ [‘Worldwide’]), ZDF („37 Grad“ [‘37 Degrees’]), SWR („Zeichen der Zeit“ [‘Sign of the Times’]), Arte („Reportages“ [‘Features’]), as well as for several magazine reporting programmes on business, politics and the environment (Markt, Report Mainz, Globus) for broadcasters such as ARD, NDR, BR, ORB, HR, ZDF, Deutsche Welle TV, Transtel and DRS, the German-speaking Swiss television network. Author of radio features (ARD broadcasting network and Deutschlandradio, e.g. political feature for WDR), for periodicals such as Die Zeit, Zeit Magazin, Die Woche, Natur & Kosmos, and Merian. Editor of the non-fiction books „WüstenErde“ (‘DesertEarth’) about desertification, „Klassenfeind Natur“ (‘Nature, the Class Enemy’) about the environment in eastern Europe, „Adressbuch Umweltverbände Osteuropa“ (‘Addressbook Environmental Associations of Eastern Europe’). Teaching and lecturing at international conferences and workshops: Goethe Institute in Mumbai/India, Miguel Alemán Foundation in Mexico, Eco-Tourism Conventions in Johannesburg/South Africa and Guayaquil/Ecuador, NetzwerkRecherche (‘Investigative Research Network’), RTL School of Journalism in Cologne, Ecopresscenter Environmental Media Centre Macedonia, Third World Journalist Network, Netzwerk Wirtschaftsethik (‘Business & Commerce Ethics Network’), lecturer at the Fachhochschule Köln, a state institute of higher education in Cologne. Member of the founding board and Secretary-General of the International Federation of Environmental Journalists (1993 - 2001), Member of the Advisory Board of the Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung, a foundation for environmental projects in eastern Europe (1994 - 1997). Spokesman for the nationwide work group “Environmental Co-operation with Eastern Europe” within BUND, the German Association for the Environment and Conservation (1990 - 1994). Member of the Jury for the Biodiversity Reporting Award for journalists from Colombia, Bolivia and Guatemala (1999 - 2002). Member of the Jury for the “Festival Vert - Recontres de Meaux” (France, 1995). Studies in geography (concluding with a degree as geographer), ethnology and politics in Aix-en-Provence/France, Frankfurt and Cologne. Recipient of scholarships from the foundations Friedrich Naumann (studies 1984-1991), Karl Gerold (research in Spain, 1987), and Heinz Kühn (Mexico, 1999). Educational training to become an editor at the Deutsche Journalistenschule in Munich (1985/86).